Willard Proctor image

  • Proctor

At the noon deadline today, 10 persons had filed as candidates in opposition to the three at-large incumbents on the City Board of Directors. City Clerk Susan Langley is still working on verifying the signatures candidates must include on their filing; so far, two, Dr. Lynette Bryant, who was seeking the Position 8 seat held by Dr. Dean Kumpuris, and Lloyd Young, who was seeking the Position 10 seat held by Joan Adcock, have come up short of the 50 valid voters signatures needed.


Still being verified are signatures for Adam Lansky, the Occupy Arkansas candidate against Kumpuris; Anthony Jerome Hampton, Lynn Hamilton, former Judge Willard Proctor and Glen Schwartz have filed for the Position 9 seat that Gene Fortson is seeking re-election to, and Robert Webb, Kaitlin Lott (also affiliated with Occupy Little Rock and Clayton Johnson have filed to run against Adcock.

Hamilton has already issued a press release stating what he sees as the issues, from the broad to the particular. Among them is ending at-large board positions, which if successful would knock him off the council; acknowledging that there is a “power struggle” between residents north and south of I-630, using the Tech Park as an example; protection of the Lake Maumelle watershed; ballfields in Southwest and West Little Rock, and the preservation of the 1840s Woodruff House east of Interstate 30.


Webb is a former commissioner with the Little Rock Housing Authority who was denied a second term on the board after he was outspoken in opposition to the 1 percent sales tax campaign last year; Johnson took his place.