National Merit Scholarship semi-finalists have been announced, The 16,000 named nationwide include 130 from Arkansas. Fayetteville High School had 19 semi-finalists, the most of any high school in the state.

Most semi-finalists will become finalists and compete for some 7,500 scholarships.

Here’s the annual explanatory news release, which includes a list of all Arkansas winners, by high school.

Semi-finalists are chosen based on scores on the 2017 PSAT National Merit Scholarship Qualifying Test.


The nationwide pool is less than 1 percent of high school seniors. It is graded on a curve by including the highest-scoring entrants in each state. Arkansas is among the six  lowest states in terms of the qualifying score required to be a semi-finalist, by this account ahead of only Wyoming, West Virginia and North Dakota.