Pro Publica

All four members of the House from Arkansas — Republicans Steve Womack, Rick Crawford, French Hill and Bruce Westerman, voted against the reauthorization of the violence against women act of 1994.

33 Republicans joined 230 Democrats in passing the bill in the House.


Those voting against women were voting FOR guns.

The National Rifle Association opposed the bill – putting GOP lawmakers in a tough position of voting against a measure protecting victims of domestic and sexual violence or opposing the politically powerful gun lobby.

…. But the most controversial are new provisions to lower the criminal threshold to bar someone from buying a gun to include misdemeanor convictions of domestic abuse or stalking charges. Current law applies to felony convictions.