THE LEVEE WAS WET: Erosion threatened a levee near Conway during recent flooding.

THE LEVEE WAS WET: Erosion threatened a levee near Conway during recent flooding.

Gov. Asa Hutchinson has named members of the task force that is to report by the end of the year on monitoring and maintaining the state’s levees.


Levee breaches — along with inactivity of many levee boards — caused problems during recent Arkansas River flooding. Is the answer for the state to step in to shore up systems built to protect and enhance private land value? We’ll see.

The members of the task force, which will first meet Friday:

  • Jami Cook – Chair
    Secretary, Department of Public Safety
  • Tommy Land
    Arkansas Land Commissioner
  • Wes Ward
    Secretary, Department of Agriculture
  • Larry Walther
    Secretary, Department of Finance and Administration
  • Bruce Holland
    Director, Arkansas Natural Resources Commission
  • A.J. Gary
    Director, Arkansas Department of Emergency Management
  • Deidre Smith
    Director, Arkansas Waterways Commission
  • Shelby Johnson
    Director, Geographic Information Office
  • Senator Jason Rapert
    Senate Appointment
  • Senator Gary Stubblefield
    Senate Appointment
  • Representative Mary Bentley
    House Appointment
  • Representative David Hillman
    House Appointment
  • County Judge Mark Thone
    Yell County
  • County Judge Jeff Phillips
    Jackson County
  • County Judge Mack Ball
    Chicot County
  • County Clerk Pam Ennis
    Pope County
  • Mayor Jimmy Witt
    Dardanelle – Yell County
  • Mayor Shirley Washington
    Pine Bluff – Jefferson County
  • Rob Rash
    St. Francis Levee Board
  • Mike Lowe
    Representing Miller County
  • Tim Ralston
    Representing Pope and Conway Counties
  • Marty Shell
    Representing Sebastian and Crawford Counties
  • Evan Teague
    Engineer, Farm Bureau
  • Tommy Bond
    Engineer, Pulaski County 
  • Hal Kemp
    Attorney, Pulaski County