The U.S. House today passed a restoration of the Voting Rights Act, 228-187.

All four members from Arkansas — French Hill, Rick Crawford, Steve Womack and Bruce Westerman — voted no. A single Republican joined Democrats in the vote. Blocking restoration of the voting rights act is part of the Republican Party’s broader strategy to suppress vote of poor and minority voters.

Support the Arkansas Blog with a subscription

We can't resist without our readers!