The Women’s March On the Polls on Jan. 20 will assemble at the intersection of West Capitol Avenue and Pulaski Street at 11 a.m. and head to the state Capitol for the 8th annual Reproductive Justice Rally starting at 1 p.m. There will be informational tables manned by several progressive organizations at the Capitol. Speakers will address women’s health care, education, immigration, sex education and LGBTQ rights. Kendra Johnson of the Human Rights Campaign will emcee; speakers include Rita Sklar of the ACLU of Arkansas; Dr. Anika Whitfield on the takeover of the Little Rock School District; Diana Pacheco on DACA and anti-immigrant sentiment; and Dr. Janet Cathy, an OB/GYN at the University of Arkansas for Medical Sciences, on the medical needs of LGBTQ patients.

Afterward, a campaign fundraiser for Gwendolynn Combs will feature a #MeToo panel on sexual assault with activist Shirley May Johnson of Nashville, Tenn., (3 p.m., the Studio Theatre); a poetry event on gun violence (3 p.m., Clinton School of Public Service); and the New Deal Salon and Galleries will exhibit “One Year Down,” a fine art and poetry event, from 1 p.m. to 6 p.m. (It opens Friday night, 6-9 p.m.)


The Fayetteville Women’s March is also Jan. 20, beginning with a rally and speakers at noon at the Downtown Square. Marchers will then head east on Mountain Street and up College Avenue to the Washington County Courthouse.

Here’s a list of progressive women (Democrats and one Independent) who have announced they’ll seek elective office in 2018. It does not include incumbents:


Gwendolynn Combs, 2nd District Congress

Hayden Shamel, 4th District Congress


Lee McQueen, 4th District Congress (Independent)

Susan Inman, Secretary of State

Jess Virden Mallett, House District 32

Tippi McCullough, House District 33


Jamie Scott, House District 37

Monica Ball, House District 39

Kim Snow, House District 80

Denise Garner, House District 84

Adrienne Kvello, House District 84

Celeste Williams, House District 95

Kelly Scott Unger, House District 87

Nicole Clowney, House District 96

Teresa Gallegos, Senate District 16


Melissa Fults, Senate District 33

Maureen Skinner, Senate District 35