Frown Pow’r

Formed: May 2008


From: Little Rock by way of Arkadelphia.

Members: Blake Phillips (drums and tambourine, percussion), JT Tarpley (vocals, guitar, stomping), Marshall Dunn (guitar, banjo, stomping, theremin), John Babb (electric mandolin, stomping).


Album: Just completed, tentatively titled “Ricky Record 1” and likely out sometime this spring on Thick Syrup.

Sounds like: A Hasil Adkins pop song. Garage-folk-rock. Or as the band says on its MySpace page, “Crackers, lo-fi.”

What’s in a name: A nod to the term Stetson Kennedy coined in the ’40s to encourage people to frown when confronted with racism and bigoted speech.

Where you’ll find them: Saturday at White Water with Parachute Woman, Feb. 3 at the Exchange in Hot Springs.