The 12 judges in the competition for the Arkansas Food Hall of Fame have made their choices, with the restaurant wins going to long-time eateries Jones Bar-B-Q of Marianna, Lassis Inn in Little Rock and Rhoda’s Famous Hot Tamales of Lake Village. That covers barbecue, catfish and hot tamales, a good representation of favorite Arkansas cuisine.

The judges — Paul S. Austin, Evette Brady, C.C. (Chip) Culpepper, Cindy Grisham, Department of Arkansas Heritage Director Stacy Hurst, Montine McNulty, Tim Morton, Rex Nelson, Tim Nutt, Kat Robinson, Christina Shutt and Lisa Speer — announced the winners last night, Feb. 28, at the induction ceremony at the Ron Robinson Theater.


Named Proprietor of the Year was the Continental Cuisine partnership of
Paul Bash, Ed Moore, Louis Petit and Denis Seyer. The Cave City (Sharp County) Watermelon Festival won the Food-Themed Events category, and Grotto Wood Fired Grill and Wine Cave in Carroll County won the People’s Choice category.