The 61st (and last until 2022) “Delta Exhibition” at the Arkansas Arts Center, on exhibit May 3-June 30, will feature 50 artworks by 49 artists, 33 from Arkansas: John Alhen, Joshua Asante, Carrie Ballinger Porter, Zachary Blair, Kim Brecklein, Debra Callahan, Olevia Caston, Karen DeJarnette, Virmarie DePoyster, Scinthya Edwards, DebiLynn Fendley, Brian Frazier, Janet Goodyear, John Green, Alice Guffey Miller, Heather Christine Guenard, Carol Hart, Jason McCann, Keith Melton, Danielle Napolitano, Mark Payne, Rashawn Penister, Yelena Petroukhina, Jason Rankin, Ray Scott, Sandra Sell, Laura Terry, Holly Tilley, Mabry Turner, Michael Warrick, Lauren Welshans, Nancy Wilson and Emily Wood.

If the Asante portrait seems familiar, that’s because the photographer/musician also created the portrait of Mayor Frank Scott Jr. for the cover of the February issue of the Arkansas Times.


Several out-of-state artists will be familiar to regular Delta-goers and others: Loren Bartnicke of Auburn, N.Y., had a work in last year’s’ “Delta”; Mark Lewis of Tulsa is a past award winner; Hunter Stamps of Lexington, Ky., has been in at least two “Delta” shows; and Cynthia Buob of Columbus, Miss., had work in the “Nasty Women” show at Henderson State University in Arkadelphia.

Cole will name a $2,500 Grand Award and two $750 Delta Awards. The Contemporaries group of the Arts Center will select a piece for their $250 award. The winners will be announced in the theater at 6 p.m. May 2, when the show will be open to members for a preview.


48 years of fearless reporting and still going strong

Be a part of something bigger and join the fight for truth by subscribing or donating to the Arkansas Times. For 48 years, our progressive, alternative newspaper in Little Rock has been tackling powerful forces through our tough, determined, and feisty journalism. With over 63,000 Facebook followers, 58,000 Twitter followers, 35,000 Arkansas blog followers, and 70,000 daily email blasts, it's clear that our readers value our commitment to great journalism. But we need your help to do even more. By subscribing or donating – as little as $1 –, you'll not only have access to all of our articles, but you'll also be supporting our efforts to hire more writers and expand our coverage. Take a stand with the Arkansas Times and make a difference with your subscription or donation today.

Previous article Islamic inmate sues Arkansas prisons over combined religious service Next article Doctor, Doctor, gimme the news…