Memorial, by Diane Harper

Thirty-nine artworks by 35 Arkansas artists have been selected for the annual “Small Works on Paper” exhibition that travels the state and from which purchase awards are made.

Juror Jamie Adams, associate professor of art at the Sam Fox School of Design and Visual Arts at Washington University in St. Louis, chose the 39 works from more than 300 submitted for consideration. Seven of the works received purchase awards: Little Rock artist John Ahlen’s acrylic and collage”Proud Tower”; Little Rock artist Martin Balsam’s charcoal “Self-Portrait”; St. Joe artist Terra Fondriest’s photograph “Ozark Gaming”; Little Rock artist Cary Jenkins’ photograph “Post”; Fairfield Bay artist Charlotte Rierson’s watercolor “Reflections of Winter Series 1, Winter’s Kiss”; North Little Rock artist Jane Rockwell’s graphite drawing “Jonathan”; and North Little Rock artist Brian Wolf’s acrylic “Palm Hours.”

Support the Arkansas Blog with a subscription

We can't resist without our readers!

Other artists whose works will appear in the show:

Ebony Blevins, Win Bruhl, Brian Cormack, Anais Dasse, Diane Harper, Jeff Horton, Kathleen Keefe, Ray Ogar, Dominique Simmons and Terry Wright, all of Little Rock; Karen Perry, Michael Preble and Gary Simmons, all of Hot Springs; John P. Lasater IV and Tomas Quinton Stanford, both of Siloam Springs; and Oluwatobi K. Adewumi of McNeil, B. Jeannie Fry of Cabot, Catherine Goenner of Bella Vista, Diana Michelle Hausam of West Fork, Karlyn S. Holloway of Austin, Hannah Jeremiah of Van Buren, Kimiara L. Johnson of Pine Bluff,  Sigrid Lorfing of Russellville, Lisa Martin of Clarksville, Lynn Reinbolt of Searcy, Sabine Schmidt of Fayetteville, Joe Stewart of Bentonville, and Anna Zusman of Magnolia.


The tour opens Jan. 9 at the Mosaic Templars Cultural Center; a reception will be held from 5:30-7 p.m. and will feature talks by artists.