This year’s finalists, in alphabetical order by film title, are: screenwriters Alfonso Cuaron & Timothy J. Sexton and David Arata and Mark Fergus & Hawk Ostby for “Children of Men,” based on the book by P.D. James; screenwriter Aline Brosh McKenna and author Lauren Weisberger for “The Devil Wears Prada”; screenwriter Neil Berger for “The Illusionist,” based on the story “Eisenheim the Illusionist” by Steven Millhauser; screenwriters Peter Morgan and Jeremy Brock for “The Last King of Scotland,” based on the book by Giles Foden; and screenwriter Patrick Marber and author Zoe Heller for “Notes on a Scandal.”

Scripter is awarded annually by the University of Southern California Libraries to honor writers for the best achievement in adaptation among English-language films released during the previous year and based on a book, novella or short story.


Past Scripter winners include the authors and screenwriters of “Capote,” “Million Dollar Baby,” “The Hours,” “A Beautiful Mind,” “L.A. Confidential,” “The English Patient” and “Schindler’s List.”

50 years of fearless reporting and still going strong

Bring back the golden era of agricultural reporting in Arkansas with your contribution today. The Arkansas Times is committed to bringing on a reporter dedicated to covering agricultural and environmental issues in The Natural State, supported by a match from Report For America. Your donation will ensure that the critical issues affecting our largest industry do not go unreported. Support us in making history.

Previous article River Rail Next article The odd couple